9 Down

Caputi is still the greatest last name ever

Caputi is still the greatest last name ever

On Friday, the Pens first cut day as the Pens cut the roster down to 42, eliminating 9 players. Those players were Luca Caputi, Joe Haddad, Dustin Jeffrey, Nick Johnson and Mark Letestu, and Jonathan D’Versa were sent to the AHL. Alex Grant (St. John’s) and forwards Keven Veilleux (Rimouski) and Casey Pierro-Zabotel (Vancouver) were returned to their junior teams.

Yeah, there’s a reason why I bolded Caputi. I never expected Caputi to start with the Pens on opening night. He needed more time in the AHL and that was obvious. However, I never expected him to be cut this early in the game. I thought he’d play a preseason game or two before getting cut and sent down. I’ve been hearing many, many positive reports about him that I’m actually pretty disappointed that he was cut. I honestly feel like this is unfair to Caputi to not to show what he’s made of in a couple preseason games. But hey, I’m just a fan, not the coach, what do I know?

It’s a shame Veilleux got cut. He was expected to do big things. Now I’ve been reading around that he’s looking terrible and needs to go back down to juniors. He went to one of the Pens top prospect studs to one of the top prospect duds like that.

LETS GO PENS!

Leave a Reply

